Google is ‘making it a precedence’ to repair sharing spam points with Drive

Posted on

Google is ‘making it a precedence’ to repair sharing spam points with Drive

Google Drive is a superb platform not only for storage, however sharing and collaborating on recordsdata. Nonetheless, there’s been a spam concern hiding in plain sight, and now the corporate intends to repair complaints with Google Drive on this space.

The very best presents for Android customers

Famous by How-To Geek, Google Drive’s sharing system has had an issue for fairly a while that makes it prone to spam.

The problem, basically, is that anybody can share any recordsdata with you as long as they’ve your e mail tackle, and you’ll’t totally take away them out of your account. Sharing a file with another person doesn’t require their permission, and so they can’t totally take away all traces of that shared file or folder. The “take away” button solely hides it from view with the file in query nonetheless surfacing in search and different areas.

Odds are, it’s not a problem you’ve had a lot bother with, however it may be irritating if it comes up. One person which How-To Geek sources notes {that a} folder their ex controls remains to be exhibiting of their account. Yikes. Making issues worse, there’s actually nothing you are able to do to repair this for the time being.

Fortunately, Google is on the case. A spokesperson confirmed that making adjustments to how Google Drive handles sharing, particularly in avoiding spam, is a precedence. How the corporate plans on doing that, nonetheless, remains to be largely unclear.

For the overwhelming majority of customers, the default sharing permissions in Drive work as supposed. Sadly, this was not the case for this person and we sincerely apologize for her expertise. In mild of this concern, we’re evaluating adjustments to our spam, abuse, and blocking options that may forestall this sort of exercise from going down on Drive. Within the interim, customers who’re experiencing comparable points can take away themselves from the folder, and the folder mustn’t reappear in both “My Drive” or “Shared with Me” except they revisit it.

Extra on Google Drive:


Try 9to5Google on YouTube for extra information:

Gravatar Image
I like technology, hopefully I can provide useful information for viewers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *